Australian Open: Who will be the first champion for 2018?

The Australian Open is a tennis tournament held every year during the third and fourth week of January in Melbourne, Australia. It is one of the four major Grand Slam tournaments and offers punters the best tennis betting markets. Whether you are a professional bettor or a newbie don’t waste your time. Open an account at the best Asian bookies and place your bets before it’s too late.

First held in 1905 (it did not get the name Australian Open until 1969), the event attracts the best ranking tennis players to compete in men’s and women’s singles, doubles and mixed doubles. After initially being played on the traditional grass surface, the tournament moved forward and got upgraded to a hard, plexicushion surface. The total prize for the tournament to be divided among the winners is 44 million dollars!

The current champions in the various events are:

  • Men’s Singles: Roger Federer
  • Men’s Doubles: Henri Kontinen / John Peers
  • Women’s Singles: Serena Williams
  • Women’s Doubles: Bethanie Mattek-Sands / Lucie Šafářová
  • Mixed Doubles: Abigail Spears / Juan Sebastián Cabal

Being the first Grand Slam of the year, it’s very difficult to make a prediction on it, but BET-IBC’s new tipster section is always ready to help you decide. Apart from not knowing at what condition the various players are, an important issue to keep in mind is that in Australia it’s summer time and, therefore, some or all of the matches may be played in warm and humid conditions requiring not only great skill but also great physical endurance which is a rather questionable proposition.

Will Novak Djokovic win another Australian Open title? He has won six of them in the last nine years, including his wins in 2015 and 2016! Or will it be Roger Federer to confirm his last year performance, claiming the victory for a second year in a row? The odds suggest that Roger Federer is the favorite over Djokovic, but everything can happen.

For the women’s competition, Serena Williams is the current champion and has claimed success seven times, chasing after the Australian tennis legend Margaret Court who holds the most single women’s titles with 11. She is still considered as the top favorite for this year’s title too.

What about you? Who is your favorite? Check all the odds on the best Asian bookmakers offered by BET-IBC from a single account – get the highest betting limits at VIP-IBC and place a bet! Start the New Year earning money with BET-IBC!